Book of Daniel

9 01 2006

Last week, NBC’s new show, The Book of Daniel, launched.

The show is about an Episcopal priest and his dysfunctional family. The main character, Daniel Webster, has a drug addiction and his wife is an alcoholic. The kicker is that Webster regularly sees and talks with a very unconventional white-robed, bearded Jesus. The Webster family is rounded out by a 23-year-old homosexual Republican son, a 16-year-old daughter who is a drug dealer, and a 16-year-old adopted son who is having sex with the bishop’s daughter. At the office, his lesbian secretary is sleeping with his sister-in-law.
NBC and the mainstream media call it “edgy,” “challenging” and “courageous.” The series is written by Jack Kenny, a practicing homosexual who describes himself as being “in Catholic recovery,” and is interested in Buddhist teachings about reincarnation and isn’t sure exactly how he defines God and/or Jesus. “I don’t necessarily know that all the myth surrounding him (Jesus) is true,” he said.

NBC considers The Book of Daniel a positive portrayal of Christ and Christians. But the show portrays something as normal that is absurd. Something that is not tolerated to be allowed to happen and chalk it up to everyday living!? NBC, the media, humanists, and leftists do not view the show as demeaning or assulting Christianity. Of course not! It is viewed as being “right down the middle” because it deals with real life (?) issues that more conservative shows are not willing to face. I do not deny that Christians deal with homosexuality and drug addictions. But I do not see how it can be courageous to portray them as being acceptable.

The week before the debut, I contacted my local NBC affiliate, WRCB, to request that they not air the show because they are not required to by NBC. The next day I had a response from the president, Tom Tolar. He had previewed the show and compared it to a modern-day Dallas! Talk about absurd. He then excused his network by declaring that “the Chattanooga viewership represents about 1/3rd of 1% of the total households in the United States. A pre-emption by WRCB does not send much of a message. The networks pay attention to one thing: ratings. If the viewers do not watch the programs, NBC receives a clear message. If the poor ratings occur throughout the country, NBC will cancel the program.” So basically what he is saying we all need to do is to do whatever is popular, no matter who we cause to stumble, because they should be able to make the right choice for themselves. What Mr. Tolar is really thinking is ‘let me make some ad dollars while I air a controversial show even though I admit that most of my viewership will not appreciate it and my station would never produce such a show.’

I have begun to contact the national advertisers of the show and would appreciate any help.

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 01 2006
mike

I didn’t actually watch the show when it aired. I chose not to.

I can’t say I’m surprised by it or by NBC’s response to you. Welcome to pluralistic America.

18 01 2006
debathome

I purposely did not watch the show hoping my lack of participation would speak loudly that I did not want to bring trash into my home. I did however contact NBC by email asking them not to air such a degrading so-called movie about Jesus. This is quite clearly a reflection of where so many people are in our society today and it ain’t a pretty picture. I sure don’t think I want any kids to watch a show like this.

Leave a Reply

