Dixie Chicks Prefer Non-Patriotism

17 06 2006

They just don’t see the point in patriotism. Talk about a few bad apples…

The level of debate can be gauged from the way Natalie Maines was compared to “Hanoi Jane” Fonda, who was photographed manning a North Vietnamese anti-aircraft gun at the height of the Vietnam war.

The Chicks can’t hide their disgust at the lack of support they received from other country performers. “A lot of artists cashed in on being against what we said or what we stood for because that was promoting their career, which was a horrible thing to do,” says Robison.

“A lot of pandering started going on, and you’d see soldiers and the American flag in every video. It became a sickening display of ultra-patriotism.”

“The entire country may disagree with me, but I don’t understand the necessity for patriotism,” Maines resumes, through gritted teeth. “Why do you have to be a patriot? About what? This land is our land? Why? You can like where you live and like your life, but as for loving the whole country… I don’t see why people care about patriotism.”

Michelle Malkin gives us a list of country singers who aren’t sickened by their country.

And to re-focus us on why we are proud to be an American:

If tomorrow all the things were gone I’d worked for all my life,
And I had to start again with just my children and my wife.
I’d thank my lucky stars to be living here today,
‘Cause the flag still stands for freedom and they can’t take that away.

And I’m proud to be an American where at least I know I’m free.
And I won’t forget the men who died, who gave that right to me.
And I’d gladly stand up next to you and defend her still today.
‘Cause there ain’t no doubt I love this land God bless the U.S.A.

From the lakes of Minnesota, to the hills of Tennessee,
across the plains of Texas, from sea to shining sea,

From Detroit down to Houston and New York to LA,
Well, there’s pride in every American heart,
and it’s time to stand and say:

I’m proud to be an American where at least I know I’m free.
And I won’t forget the men who died, who gave that right to me.
And I’d gladly stand up next to you and defend her still today.
‘Cause there ain’t no doubt I love this land God bless the U.S.A.

Words and Music by Lee Greenwood

Whether or not there’s pride in their hearts, I do not know, but I one thing is for sure: We won’t see it while Bush is President. Maybe not even a Democrat. Who knows with people like this?

Expose The Left can’t emphasize enough.
Bryan at Hot Air says, “That’s because you’re blind.”

A Lady’s Ruminations trackbacked with: What did they expect?
Blue Star Chronicles trackbacked with: Earl Didn’t Die!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

