Blog-o-Crat Goes too Far

13 02 2007

Filed under: Marcotte, Edwards, Liberalism, Politics

John Edwards would make a horrible president. He won’t make the right decision. He’s offended by the vile posts of his presidential campaign’s two anti-faith bloggers, but apparently not enough to fire them. Edwards defends his decision to retain Amanda Marcotte and Melissa McEwan in a press statement.

“I talked personally to the two women who were involved. They gave me their word they, under no circumstances, intended to denigrate any church or anybody’s religion, and offered their apologies for anything that indicated otherwise. I took them at their word.”

Yes, John, and you’ve been taken for a fool too. FRC points out that when actor Isaiah Washington slandered a homosexual, he was institutionalized. When Mel Gibson lashed out against the Jewish community in a drunken tirade, he became a Hollywood outcast. Marcotte and McEwan are being allowed to blog on in Edwards’ name.

Edwards said:

“That kind of intolerant language will not be permitted from anyone on my campaign.”

What he does not say is why it was acceptable to utter such language in the recent past. We stand with the Catholic League for Religious and Civil Rights in calling on Edwards to take a stand against religious prejudice and to fire the bloggers before they do further damage to him and to the cause of civil discourse.

Whoops. Never mind. Blog-o-crat, Amanda Marcotte has resigned from the Edwards’ campaign.

I was hired by the Edwards campaign for the skills and talents I bring to the table, and my willingness to work hard for what’s right. Unfortunately, Bill Donohue and his calvacade of right wing shills don’t respect that a mere woman like me could be hired for my skills, and pretended that John Edwards had to be held accountable for some of my personal, non-mainstream views on religious influence on politics (I’m anti-theocracy, for those who were keeping track). Bill Donohue—anti-Semite, right wing lackey whose entire job is to create non-controversies in order to derail liberal politics—has been running a scorched earth campaign to get me fired for my personal beliefs and my writings on this blog.

In fact, he’s made no bones about the fact that his intent is to “silence” me, as if he—a perfect stranger—should have a right to curtail my freedom of speech. Why? Because I’m a woman? Because I’m pro-choice? Because I’m not religious? All of the above, it seems.

Regardless, it was creating a situation where I felt that every time I coughed, I was risking the Edwards campaign. No matter what you think about the campaign, I signed on to be a supporter and a tireless employee for them, and if I can’t do the job I was hired to do because Bill Donohue doesn’t have anything better to do with his time than harass me, then I won’t do it. I resigned my position today and they accepted.

Michelle Malkin notices the AP headline . . . :

Targeted Blogger Quits Edwards Campaign

. . . And offers a more relistic version:

Here, let me rewrite that headline for you, AP:

Godbag“-spewing Blogger Quits Edwards Campaign

Marcotte, in a veritable display of maturity and adulthood, vows revenge:

Unencumbered by her work for Edwards, she vowed to strike back. “The main good news,” Marcotte wrote, “is that I don’t have a conflict of interest issue anymore that was preventing me from defending myself against these baseless accusations. So it’s on.”

What apology?

Ed Morrissey:

Contrary to her assertion that we “right wing shills don’t respect that a mere woman like me could be hired for my skills,” we Catholics drew attention to the fact that she engages in vituperative and demeaning attacks on religion and that Edwards appeared to have endorsed that by hiring her. Along the exact same lines, I would have criticized a Republican dumb enough to hire Fred Phelps* as a spokesperson, as would Marcotte herself. She simply refuses to accept the fact that she wrote incendiary and bigoted essays about Christians and embarrassed Edwards by agreeing to work for him after doing so.

Hot Air has video of Michelle discussing the issue on O’Reilly.

Wizbang:

Blah, blah, blah…it was all the rightwing godbags’ fault, blah, blah, blah. No way could it be because of her inability to control her filthy hate-spewing mouth.

One more liberal out of the media, for now, fired, resigned, pressured. We’ll take what we can get.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

