We Still Don’t Know What Obama’s Faith Is IN

14 03 2008

Filed under: Obama Pastor, Jeremiah Wright, Politics, Christianity, Trinity church

UPDATE – 3/15/08: Video of Friday’s interview added. Scroll for updates…

Today, we finally, and I can’t emphasize finally enough here, heard from Barack Obama about what he doesn’t believe. Allegedly.

But first, let’s hear from Obama yesterday about his pastor’s vile statements that surfaced from a sermon in 2003:

Q: I don’t know if you’ve seen it, but it’s all over the wire today (from an ABC News story), a statement that your pastor (the Rev. Jeremiah Wright of Trinity United Church of Christ on Chicago’s South Side) made in a sermon in 2003 that instead of singing “God Bless America,” black people should sing a song essentially saying “God Damn America.”

A: I haven’t seen the line. This is a pastor who is on the brink of retirement who in the past has made some controversial statements. I profoundly disagree with some of these statements.

Q: What about this particular statement?

A: Obviously, I disagree with that. Here is what happens when you just cherry-pick statements from a guy who had a 40-year career as a pastor. There are times when people say things that are just wrong. But I think it’s important to judge me on what I’ve said in the past and what I believe.

Perhaps, then, the distinguished senator from Illinois would like to explain the appropriate context for singing “God Damn America,” and offer empirical, peer-reviewed evidence that America created HIV.

And let’s not forget that we don’t yet know what the notable senator from Illinois DOES believe. We’re hearing what he DOESN’T believe, but actions speak louder than words. And Dr. Wright is who he is. Every time we’ve heard him speak it’s been his racist, hate-filled, anti-America mantra. So, Barack’s, “I didn’t know he felt that way,” excuse won’t fly. After all, he’s been under the spiritual guidance of Wright for twenty years. So, unless the Obamas never went to church in those twenty years, which we know isn’t true, Barack was well aware of his pastor’s stances, and still refused to distance himself. Besides, there is more evidence that suggests he did than his own word that he did not know.

So much so, that today, Obama finally issued a statement renouncing his pastor’s words. He titled the piece, “On My Faith and My Church.”

Let me say at the outset that I vehemently disagree and strongly condemn the statements that have been the subject of this controversy. I categorically denounce any statement that disparages our great country or serves to divide us from our allies. I also believe that words that degrade individuals have no place in our public dialogue, whether it’s on the campaign stump or in the pulpit. In sum, I reject outright the statements by Rev. Wright that are at issue.

Rev. Wright preached the gospel of Jesus, a gospel on which I base my life. In other words, he has never been my political advisor; he’s been my pastor. And the sermons I heard him preach always related to our obligation to love God and one another, to work on behalf of the poor, and to seek justice at every turn.

The statements that Rev. Wright made that are the cause of this controversy were not statements I personally heard him preach while I sat in the pews of Trinity or heard him utter in private conversation. When these statements first came to my attention, it was at the beginning of my presidential campaign. I made it clear at the time that I strongly condemned his comments. But because Rev. Wright was on the verge of retirement, and because of my strong links to the Trinity faith community, where I married my wife and where my daughters were baptized, I did not think it appropriate to leave the church.

Funny thing is, there’s nothing in there on his faith and how it applies to his church. It’s all about what his faith is not and what his church is not. There is more here on his view of Dr. Wright’s faith than his own faith. A better title would have been, “My unfaith and Dr. Wright’s church.” And as a side note, I don’t think it’s a coincidence that Obama decided to release this statement late on Friday afternoon … and on the Huffington Post no less.

I’d like to point out two flaws in Barack Obama’s argument that many are probably missing on here:

First, faith is only faith if it is something you can truly believe in. Obama’s go-to response to defend his faith is to rationalize his actions over the last twenty years, make excuses how he didn’t know what his pastor’s views were, and stress what he doesn’t believe. Fine. But what DO you believe, Senator? At this point, Barack Obama is gaining popularity, and thus votes, by being good at one thing: playing the flute. And he’s really good. Probably better than this guy:

Pied_Piper_with_Children

You’d have to be pretty darn good to fool a large chunk of America’s educated elite into following you with no real substance. Barack Obama is the Pied Piper of politics. He says he has faith. But all we know is what he doesn’t believe. He says he will bring change. But the only change we know of is that it’s on his signs and bumper stickers. He says America is a great country. But he doesn’t wear a flag on his lapel and won’t place his right hand over his heart during the National Anthem. He’s got charisma, charm, and class. He’s a flute player, countrymen.

Second, where there is truth, there is no discord. Now certainly there will be disagreements on smaller issues (dress, media, food) among believers, but on the large issues, there shouldn’t be such a disconnect between biblical truth and how believers should respond. Unfortunately, from what little we do know about Obama, there is a expansive breach between the issues and the truth. And it’s not the bible he read that caused it. I’ll give you a hint as to who played a big role: his name starts with a “J” and ends with a “eremiah Wright.” You guessed it. Dr. Wright played a very significant role in influencing Obama. He may not agree with everything his pastor believes, as he’s been sure to tell us a thousand times, but he is very much a more upgraded model politically correct version of anti-America, anti-family values, pro-abortion, pro-homosexual marriage dogma, none of which are advocated in the bible. And we all know how well Obama knows the bible. No wonder he can’t give us any substance. He either has to leave the Democrat party or keep his distance. Which one he does will depend on how well he continues to play the flute.

Here is the video from Friday:

He attended in spurts. But he says he didn’t hear Dr. Wright’s deplorable, hate-filled words when he was there. Of course not. If you only go to church on Easter, Christmas, and for a child’s baptism, you probably won’t hear it. He just shot himself in the foot. But the sign in the background said, “Change…” And there was an American flag there too. The flute is louder than the dogma.

A Michelle Malkin reader points out an appropriate song for Obama:

It struck me how much the song “Losing my Religion” is appropriate for Obama:

That’s me in the spotlight
Losing my religion

Oh no I’ve said too much
I havent said enough

Of every waking hour I’m
Choosing my confessions

The hint of the century

The slip that brought me
To my knees failed

More good coverage at Stop The ACLU, Hot Air.

Big Dogs Weblog trackbacked with: Obama Shuns Fox News Until He is in Trouble

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

